From Aimless To Inspired – Thank You Carrie Bradshaw

Sarah Jessica ParkerPhoto: Getty Images

“It’s a small world” is on the dot, living or working in New York City. The Anna Wintours of the fashion, commerce, finance and entertainment industry, the ‘posh’ lifestyle and the God forsaken rats for some reason congregated into this island, that’s a fixture of my love-hate relationship, and attracted the out-of-state and international demographic while keeping the majority of its urbane natives within the confines of the Hudson River, the East River and the Harlem River — the funny thing is, that fact is the ‘million dollar question’ for New Yorkers.

So with that being said, I’ve had my fair share of small world encounters bumping into long lost acquaintances, or as it happened a week ago, recognizing the back of a friend’s head, whom I’ve lost contact with four years ago, in a supermarket — (I’ll call him Bob for the sake of simplicity). We exchanged numbers and it so happened that a former high school teammate, with whom I’ve lost contact with, but was in contact with Bob, was coming to visit the city. We rendezvoused at Yakitori Taisho in St. Mark’s (I highly recommend the dig) and discussed our humble lives.

Bob eventually got around to asking me, “Where did your inspiration for journalism come from?” When you’ve attuned your every breath to a career path, you can’t (nor should you) deceive yourself with false pretenses. “Sex and the City,” I answered.

I remember sitting in my room alone on a Saturday night, desperate to find my purpose in life – even resorting to praying for guidance from a higher power. Then I discovered SATC and proceeded to push my resume via Craigslist’s writing jobs (it’s a great starting point or try Ed2010). It’s not so much that Carrie Bradshaw’s façade of a life appeared glamorous; it was that her words reached an attentive audience, that turned me on – it’s satisfying to have written and be heard than not to have shared at all. I’m sure you feel the same way. So thank you Carrie Bradshaw – I mean Sarah Jessica Parker.

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –> “It’s a small world” is on the dot, living or working in New York City. The Anna Wintours of the fashion, commerce, finance and entertainment industry, the ‘posh’ lifestyle and the God forsaken rats for some reason congregated into this island, that’s a fixture of my love-hate relationship, and attracted the out-of-state and international demographics while keeping the majority of its urbane natives within the confines of the Hudson River, the East River and the Harlem River — the funny thing is, that fact is the ‘million dollar question’ for New Yorkers.So with that being said, I’ve had my fair share of small world encounters bumping into long lost acquaintances, or as it happened a week ago, recognizing the back of a friend’s head, whom I’ve lost contact with four years ago, in a supermarket — (I’ll call him Bob for the sake of simplicity). We exchanged numbers and it so happened that a former high school teammate, with whom I’ve lost contact with, but was in contact with Bob, was coming to visit the city. We rendezvoused at Yakitori Taisho in St. Mark’s (I highly recommend the dig) and discussed our humble lives.

Bob eventually got around to asking me, “Where did your inspiration for journalism come from?” When you’ve attuned your every breath to a career path, you can’t (nor should you) deceive yourself with false pretenses. “Sex and the City,” I answered.

It’s not so much that Carrie Bradshaw’s façade of a life appeared glamorous; it was her words that reached an attentive audience that turned me on – it’s satisfying to have written and be heard than not to have shared at all. I’m sure you feel the same way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Experiences

Leave a Reply

